#SOL.15.Lullaby.By.Fire

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 8.54.39 PM

Sometimes quiet in it’s destruction
Other times loud
Popping, whirring causing both steam and smoke
Like a ghost haunting moisture
Evaporating one life to fuel the next

Like a zombie-vampire—it rages heartless, yet warm.

“The wood is the fuel
Add more fuel if you want more fire”

I’d waken him because the fire had gone low.
I didn’t know enough, but he’d teach and I’d learn.

I remember having watched my daddy do it
Gasping when fire-bright ember would leap and fade from the fireplace

“Oh it’s all right”
But Dad! It’s fire

I thought myself right to be alarmed
All these years later I offer reassurance to my own.

Frightened—no…
Respectful, though
Watchful

Like a lion tamer who never becomes too at ease.
For fire and lion are both wild
And neither would describe themselves as tame.

It does inspire peace.
The delicate dance of heat, oxygen, wood

I once heard a wedding speech
Marriage analogous to a well-built fire.
Logs close, but not too close.

I was ignorant
Didn’t understand fires, and thus not the analogy.

Years later, married and warm
I get it.

Best to fall asleep mesmerized by the bright warm joy
To fall asleep on him.
He’d let me until he’d rise to tend the fire

From a trickle to a roar
He could make hot coals scream

The heat often too intense to do anything with.
You’d have to step back, catch a breath and then dig in.

Nothing like a good set of fireplace tools
We need an ash can
I nearly burned my fingerprint off fussing with a large pot turned ash can.

A purchase for another day.

She rages on
Consuming in beauty all she knows
Destroyer, provider
I humbly kneel at your power.

FIRE!

5 thoughts on “#SOL.15.Lullaby.By.Fire

  1. franmcveigh March 7, 2015 / 2:04 am

    Beautiful descriptions! I especially liked
    “Frightened—no…
    Respectful, though
    Watchful . . .”
    as I thought about campfires, wood stoves and even the timber that I live in!

  2. litcoachdanak March 7, 2015 / 2:22 am

    This is just beautiful in so many ways…the language, the external and internal story… Thank you for writing it and sharing.
    -Dana

  3. Stacey Shubitz March 7, 2015 / 2:29 am

    What a powerful poem about fire. I think the analogy you made to a marriage is a good one.

    I was sitting in front of our fireplace tonight (gas, not wood-burning) studying the way the person who installed it set up the logs. I think it’s set up a lot like the way a good marriage is supposed to be set up. The logs are close, but not too close.

  4. LSquared March 7, 2015 / 3:03 am

    Nice little study. I expect the respect and references to power, but I like these two lines the best:

    It does inspire peace.
    The delicate dance of heat, oxygen, wood

    The rhythm of that line feels like the chemical reaction in the fireplace.
    Thanks!

  5. sarahfrelix March 7, 2015 / 4:15 am

    I appreciate the rhythm and movement you created in this piece. It’s almost like a dance between the words and images. Thanks : )

Leave a Reply

