#SOL15.Together.In.The.Son

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 9.23.24 PM

The sun was glorious
The sky endless

Drastic difference from the foggy clouds that clung to the earth
Making harm feel eminent
All these days and cold, dark nights

There was hope in these clouds
God, even

“God isn’t in there, He’s out here!” I exclaimed that on the church steps.
Not a true assessment—God is everywhere.

But, being inside seemed wrong when God’s glory was clearly on vivid display in the rays of the sun!

I had looked at the 10-day forecast.
Rain on all days except this glorious one.
And also, it snowed about 10 days prior
Ice on our back deck only just a week ago.

Was I really contemplating playing hooky…from church.?

Wondered why the good minister didn’t just usher us all out onto the front steps and lawn. He has a booming voice…

I was contemplating playing hooky…from church
And you know what you see when you play hooky?

Other people who play hooky.
The lady who dipped out of the choir stand and on out of the door.
The deacon…
The sisters who were in lively conversation on the front steps

I saw a handsome fellow walking up the way.
He was my fellow on his way from the choir loft to the balcony to join me.
He smiled sweetly
I whispered feverishly—it’s just SO nice out here!

You want to go run get a coffee?
Seriously, you want to go?

You know who else you see when you play hooky?
Hooky-playing professionals.

He offered several options

But I chose the Lord
And I chose him.

He asked once more on the stairs to the balcony.
Are you sure?

I am sure I love him!

We sat together after all.
Sweetly leaning
Periodically whispering
And laughing, hysterically

Failing at every attempt to hide our laughter from the good minister.
We had brought the sun in with us

Rays tumbled out of our eyes and smiles as we enjoyed the moments

Together
In the Son!

5 thoughts on “#SOL15.Together.In.The.Son

  1. Jen March 9, 2015 / 1:31 am

    This is a powerful post! I loved how you said, “But I chose the Lord.” The ending was perfect! Thank you for sharing this amazing slice!

  2. readingteach March 9, 2015 / 1:39 am

    Beautiful!! I wonder though, if God created that sunny day is it really playing hooky to bask in his creation versus being in a man-made building?! Just pushing a little here 🙂 I, too, went to church. But that beautiful, sunny day sure was beckoning me.

  3. LSquared March 9, 2015 / 2:13 am

    The longing for sunshine and fresh air is so real. I love that you almost played hooky…
    Hope you had a glorious afternoon, too.

  4. erinbakerreadwrite March 9, 2015 / 2:13 am

    That was AWESOME! I loved the poetry of your post. I kept reading to find out if you played hookey or not. Love that you brought the sun in with you! Just loved this post!

  5. onathought March 9, 2015 / 2:26 am

    The happiness is clear in this slice. I love how you see other people who are playing hooky… Great plot here in this slice. 🙂 So glad you had sun.

Leave a Reply

