#SOL15.Time.Machine

SOL

If I could go back in time, I would write down every single funny remark, delightful realization, confusion turned laughter, turned hilarious laughter.

I would capture each moment and preserve it and the memories that surround it. I would label each snapshot, write each student’s name, and remember each face.

If I could go back in time, I would pause and write what happened instead of having to pause to piece together a memory.

I’d have more than the few that I remember.

When B told the entire class that M had her independence taken out. It was her appendix.

I remember that M told me I could do “The Rock eyebrow” because I could life my left one high. I think The Rock used it for intimidation. Mine demonstrated facial-curiosity.

I’d film the moments that were so funny, that I had to leave the room, hide my laughter, cackle and snicker in corners because my kids were so spot-on. Or off. Often, they were just off…

Oh, we’ve had the best times!

Learners became friends

Classmates transformed into the same

After a year, sometimes sixth months, the classroom morphed into a family room

The ease and camaraderie emboldened

Fear and uncertainty faded away

I’ve always liked the second half of the year better.

The part beyond routines and procedures, where students self-govern.

My favorite is when they govern each other

“Hey, be quiet y’all!” “She’s quiet, you know she’s getting mad!”

The statement alone, made me not mad.

If I could go back in time,

I would.

I would teach them all over again, except better.

Of course, if I could go back now, I would adopt them all.

Fill in all the spots and spaces I was at a loss for then.

Different years, so good for various reasons.

If I could go back, I’d pack hugs and a pen.

I’d type it all down and label it.

I’d have it all here for review…

One thought on “#SOL15.Time.Machine

  1. tammyyoga March 30, 2015 / 2:11 am

    Lovely piece! If only we could go back an do better and enjoy them more.

Leave a Reply

